



DRAFT MINUTES | CSLA Board of Directors

Tuesday, August 22nd,2017, from 1 to 2:30 p.m. EST

Present: Michelle Legault, Vincent Asselin, Arnis Budrevics, Cameron DeLong, Arnis Budrevics, Jean Landry, Sarah Culp, Margaret Ferguson, Kathy Dunster, Vincent Asselin, Dan Glenn, Trevor Tumach, Gordon Smith, Jonathan Sagi

Regrets: Monica Giesbrecht, Nastaran Moradinejad

No · Item·

No.:	Item:
1	Call to Order and Welcome Vincent Asselin welcomed the members and called the meeting to order.
2	Approval of Proposed Agenda – FOR DECISION We will add item 6a) Approval of Monica Giesbrecht as Chair of the ATF MOTION 2017-8-1: To approve the agenda as modified. Moved by Sarah Culp and seconded by Jean Landry. Motion unanimously approved.
3	Approval of the Minutes of the Last Meeting – FOR DECISION Document no. 3a) and b) MOTION 2017-8-2: To approve the minutes of the 16 May 2017, CSLA Board meeting as presented. Moved by Margaret Ferguson and seconded by Jean Landry. Motion unanimously approved. MOTION 2017-8-3: To approve the minutes of the 6 June 2017, CSLA Board meeting as presented as modified. Moved by Sarah Culp and seconded by Jean Landry. Motion unanimously approved.
4	Executive Director's Report – FOR INFORMATION Michelle Legault provided an update on the August 2017 Evergreen Action List. She noted that the focus over the summer was to prepare the announcement for the Legacy Project Award, preparing a fall student sales campaign for the Canadian Landscape Standard, kicking off the planning for the 2018 Congress, including working with the program committee to finalize the theme, the call for abstracts and draft the sponsorship package. In addition, the 2017 Congress dominated most of the summer. A location for the gala was obtained, ticket sales platforms built for the gala, the charrette and the tours. There are, at last count, approximately 100 CSLA members, 70 AAPQ members and 54 IFLA delegates registered for the Congress. These numbers are very low, especially regarding the IFLA participation, and it is hoped that following the summer, the numbers of participants will increase. Management issues continue to plague the WDSO. They have again a new director in place, and a new management structure, and the WDSO Board is working to overcome these issues. Of note: Sheila Copps was excused from the presidency of the WDSO Board, and has been replaced by Marie-Claude Parenteau Leboeuf, who has been involved with the WDSO all along. The CSLA continues to insist on many issues to make the Congress a success, most notably, that they secure insurance on the event, that they share a budget (as per our agreement), that they provide letters of Visa to foreign participants as soon as possible.

5	Finance Committee Report - Review of current financials - FOR INFORMATION
	Arnis Budrevics reported that the accounts were in good order, and that we are on budget and on target. In terms of accounts receivable, the AAPQ and OALA amounts owing are due to the payments in instalments. No other invoices are outstanding. The balances and cash flow of the CSLA are in good order, as seen in our balance sheet. The balance in our checking account is over 200k, which means that we are in a good cash flow position for the fall and winter, when dues will be paid. In addition, we should note that tour revenues from the 2017 Congress and the gala will begin to trickle in to the CSLA over the next few weeks, as will the final OALA and AAPQ payments, thus enhancing our cushion.
6	IFLA Delegate Nominating Committee - FOR DECISION
	MOTION 2017-8-4: To approve Claude Potvin as the IFLA Delegate for a term beginning in January 2018 and ending in January 2021. Moved by Margaret Ferguson and seconded by Jean Landry. Motion unanimously approved.
6a)	Nomination of Monica Giesbrecht as Chair of the ATF
	MOTION 2017-8-5: That Monica Giesbrecht be appointed Chair of the Advocacy Task Force for a two year term, beginning in the Fall of 2017. Moved by Gordon Smith and seconded by Margaret Ferugson. Motion unanimously approved.
7	CSLA Recognition Awards
	MOTION 2017-8-6: That Sean Kelly be awarded the 2017 Teaching Award. Moved by Sarah Culp and seconded by Cameron DeLong. Motion unanimously approved.
	MOTION 2017-8-7: That the Amis de la Montagne be awarded the 2017 Community Service Award. Moved by Jean Landry and seconded by Kathy Dunster. Motion unanimously approved.
	MOTION 2017-8-8: That Nathalie Goulet Sorensen be awarded the 2017 Emerging Professionals Award. Moved by Jon Sagi and seconded by Sarah Culp. Motion unanimously approved.
	MOTION 2018-8-9: That Doug Olson be awarded the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award. Moved by Vincent Asselin and seconded by Jonathan Sagi.
8	College of Fellows Pin
	This item was tabled until the October 2017 Board meeting.
9	Adjournment
	The meeting adjourned at 2:05 p.m.